Named after the Inn in Harry Potter books, The three star Hog’s Head Inn is just a short drive from Alnwick Castle – or Hogwarts in JK Rowling’s tales of the boy wizard and his friends – and the famous Alnwick Gardens and Treehouse. Offering exceptionally good food, free Wi-Fi and plenty of parking, The Hog’s Head Inn is a brand new place to eat, drink, sleep and explore.
Open all year
Special diets catered for
Pleasant visit but beer not so good
I will start with the only negative which was the beer.. my partner had a San Miguel which he said didn't taste very nice he used to work in a pub so knows when the beer lines have been cleaned or not and he seemed to think they hadn't. Other than that the food was lovely I opted for the beef dip sandwich which came with salad, homemade chips and a pot of gravy and my partner had the double bacon cheeseburger which also came with homemade fries he was very impressed as was I especially as we arrived at half 11 and they don't start serving main food until 12 but we were advised that it may be a little wait which we were fine with but food arrived within 20 mins.. impressed and would return.
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving this review, so pleased you enjoyed your lunches with us and we would love to see you again soon!
George H, York, United Kingdom
We wanted a lovely pub meal whilst on holiday in Alnwick and found the menu for the Hogs head via the Bamburgh Castle website. The menu looked delicious so we decided to eat there despite there being other pubs closer to us. We waited around for a while for staff to tell us where to sit, and then ordered a pizza and a burger. The burger was slightly overdone and the pizza was a bit bland and lacking in toppings. We were disappointed as the menu suggested high quality food and ingredients. However it was quite cheap so we got what we paid for.
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving this review and for your comments, did you mention to a member of our team at The Hog's Head Inn about your issues with the food as we would have happily changed it for you? We would always far rather know at the time so we can rectify. Please do come back and give us another try.
Iceskater06, Hessle, United Kingdom
Stumbled across this place on a visit to Alnwick Castle. Lovely home cooked food which was well presented and tasted lovely. Wouls reccomend the beef stroganoff. Had a lovely pudding of sticky toffee sundae.
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Ah, lovely to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope to see you again soon!
Dee G, Warwick, United Kingdom
My husband and I along with teenage son and girlfriend stayed for one night whilst attending a birthday celebration. we arrived earlier than expected and told we could not check in before 2.30. Fair enough, but they didn't even bother to see which room we were in to see if it had been serviced. After washing and changing in the public toilet after our 5 hour drive, a male member of staff did show some interest in us, checked us in and took our bags to our room which had been ready all along. The birthday celebration went very, the carvery was fairly good. The room was a family, 2 singles made together and a double sofa bed. Plenty of room for us all but the kids did not have the best nights sleep as they kept rolling to the middle of the sofa bed which could do with a new mattress. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Overall the hotel was clean, reasonably comfortable, but overpriced for what it was.
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving this review, so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us! We do try our best to make sure all of our guests are happy and comfortable so I will pass the comment about the mattress to the manager. We do advise on the conformation email / letter / phone that check in is any time after 2.30pm, this gives our house keeping team time to clean all of our rooms. Again, so sorry you feel like this but we do hope to see you again to give us another try.
herbaltea123, Kendal, United Kingdom
The perfect location for visiting Alnwick and all other sights up and down the Northumberland coast- easy access to the dual carriageway, yet not too much noise at night. Clean rooms and comfortable beds, with some friendly hotel staff (not all- we were told breakfast wasn't included and would be extra, despite having double checked when booking that it was!). We asked when checking in if we could have rooms next door to each other (family group of three) and were pleased to be told we could- when we got up to the rooms, they were numerically next to each other (something like 101 and 102), but on completely different corridors! Seems like staff need to know the Inn a little better. Not very good value for money, but there aren't many options in Alnwick and it was definitely the best option for us.
The Hogs Head Inn replied: Thank you for leaving this review, so sorry about the room mistake and the breakfast error on booking. Our fantastic team at The Hog's Head Inn love nothing more than to see our customers leave feeling happy with their experience and we do hope to see you again soon!