Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens

Kirkley Hall
Ponteland
Northumberland
NE20 0AQ

+44 01670 841235

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 402 reviews
Find within approx miles of Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens

Awards


Overview

Visit Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, we have over one hundred species of animals including ring tailed and ruff lemurs, meerkats, coatis, marmosets, capybara, kookaburra, wallaby and a wide range of domestic, exotic and avian species including our petting barn. Visitors can meet the keepers and learn about the animals and their habitats. With a rolling programme of kids’ activities and play areas, forest trails, garden walks, picnic areas and a tea room and gift shop which are open all year round, there really is something for all of the family.

Ticketing and entry prices for Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens

Type Entry for Guide price
Single
(Adult)
1
£6.95
per ticket
Child
(Child (age 3-17))
1
£4.95
per ticket
Family
(Family (2 adults & 3 children))
1
£21.95
per ticket
Free
(Children (2 or under))
1
£0.00
per ticket
Concession
(Concession (disabled or senior citizen))
1
£5.95
per ticket
Car parking available at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Car parking available
Toilet Facilities at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Toilet facilities
Open all year at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Open all year
Reduced rates for children at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Reduced rates for children
Child / family friendly at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Family friendly
Credit / debit cards accepted at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Credit / debit cards accepted
Gift shop on site at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Gift shop on site
Film location at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Film / TV location
Guided Tours at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Guided Tours
Picnic area at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Picnic area
Reduced rates for children at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Reduced rates for children
Restaurant / cafe on site at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Restaurant / Cafe on site
Special diets catered for at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Special diets catered for
 at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Wheelchair friendly
Event venue at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens Family Attraction  Attraction Event venue
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
24/09/2017

Changed but enjoyed


Lottie917, Belford, United Kingdom
It's been a couple of years since my last visit and there has been a few changes - extra enclosures and more shrubbery. I loved the kookaburra's, the wallabies (one has a baby in it's pouch that we were lucky enough to see), the ring tailed lemurs, the little fuzzy monkey and the squirrel monkeys but was disappointed not to see any of the other lemurs or see the lemurs playing/swinging outside - was sure the kiddies would have loved that. We weren't told at the entrance that you needed to arrange a time to go into the lorikeet enclosure so we missed out on that but that's something for next time. There is a play area for the kiddies (although part of it was cordoned off with red tape) and an area for handling - a large white rabbit was available for my nieces to pet and listen to a few facts about which my younger niece particularly enjoyed. One of the reindeer was looking quite poorly and it's ribs were showing but I have been assured that it is on the mend so hopefully it will be better for my next visit. If you're an animal lover, you cannot go wrong with this place. I would have stayed all day given the chance.
tripadvisor
10/09/2017

Dog festival


Elsa C, Newcastle, United Kingdom
Visited with my two dogs and a friend and her daughter and their dog for the dog festival. Arrived at 10 and stayed until 3pm. Lots of stalls and attractions to visit and doggy competitions if you wanted to enter. There were hundreds of people and their furry friends in all shapes and sizes. A good day

Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens replied: We are glad that you had a lovely day!
tripadvisor
02/09/2017

Kept us all entertained


Marcus C,
Can't believe the difference since we last came and full marks for continual improvement. There were even more animals and some really interesting ones we haven't seen before including squirrel monkeys, racoon dogs, bush dogs and porcupine to name a few. We had a lovely walk around the gardens and river trail and completed the day with the kids having a fab time on the climbing tower, archery and zip wire and whilst there spent half an hour playing on the free access assault course. The orangery team room was busy but we had a good value lunch at the other care which had been opened up to help and did more chips / hot sandwhich related meals. We will return as it keeps improving, is great value, kids learnt a lot and got good exercise and a great way to spend a few hours without breaking the bank

Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens replied: Thank you for your lovely review! Our Rainbow Lorikeet Walkthrough is now finished and soon you will be able to hand feed nectar to them which is extremely exciting! Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Aidan Marsden Visitor Experience Manager
tripadvisor
28/08/2017

Bank holiday


pinecone2013, Durham, United Kingdom
Found a voucher deal for £10 which allowed 2 adults and3 children which was perfect for us. On first glance I was worried that we would be out after an hour as it didn't look so big. We arrived at 10.45 and left the zoo at 3. Lots of wonderful animals and great to be allowed to feed the wallabies. Animals were well looked after and we were particularly impressed by the young man giving a talk on lemurs. He was very engaging and we enjoyed hearing and seeing all the tales. There is a small play area where we are our picnic. We left around 3 and decided to take the children to the outdoor activities just opposite the zoo. It was £4 for climbing wall and the same zip wire. The archery was not running as there were no arrows which seemed strange?! We opted for zip wire. Children Needed to be 6+. They loved it. There was also a free assault style course and a small maze. We had a wonderful bank holiday family trip and will definitely return in the future.

Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens replied: Thank you so much for your comments; I'm so glad that you enjoyed your day! We have a new exhibit opening soon where you can hand feed our stunning lorikeets nectar straight from the pot so we hope you come back to see them! Hopefully those pesky arrows will have turned up by then too! Aidan Marsden Visitor Experience Manager
tripadvisor
28/08/2017

Disappointing


Kelly R,
We visited here today - 3 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 10. There's a good mix of animals although some of the enclosures looked empty or a bit overgrown so you couldn't see the animals (although I appreciate they need to have plenty of places to hide for privacy). The reindeers looked emaciated, you could see their ribs. I did see a sign that one of the reindeers was being treated for a skin problem but I wouldn't have thought this would make it look skinny, and especially not both of them. There are picnic tables next to the play area so you can bring your own food. We sat and had a lovely picnic in the sun. There's also a little hut nearby selling hotdogs and drinks. We were very disappointed to discover that the archery wasn't on, but we weren't advised of this when we purchased our dual tickets. The kids were disappointed as they'd wanted to try it. People were being offered an extra turn on the zip wire to make up for it but it would have been nice to be advised beforehand as we then would have just paid for the zip wire as extra instead of purchasing a dual ticket. Queing for the activities took a while. There wasn't enough staff to deal with filling the consent forms in, getting people harnessed up and then supervising them so we were left waiting with our forms while the lad had to run off to harness other people up. Once harnessed up though, the zip wire was the best bit of the day and the lad supervising was very friendly and cheerful. I imagine it gets very tedious doing the same thing for hours on end but he was very diligent in his job, took no shortcuts with safety, and was chatty and smiley throughout, couldn't fault him at all. Shame not all of your staff are like that (see below!) We didn't bother with the climbing wall in the end because by the afternoon the queues were massive, so we decided to head off to the high ropes. We asked one of the lads where it was and he said we needed to book so we headed down to the ticket booth. The girl there then told us we had to book in advance for this and that it's not included in the dual ticket price. We then asked how far in advance we had to book, thinking maybe a couple of hours or something, and she said a few days!! We expressed our disappointment that none of this is made clear on the website and we weren't advised when purchasing our tickets. The girl's attitude with us was disgusting, telling us that it did say on the website actually (it doesn't because I have since checked again!), that she wasn't the one who sold us our tickets and that she works for the zoo so if we have a problem we should take it up with the activity centre. We started to walk away and she shouted "goodbye" in a petulant and rude manner. I went back and said I didn't like her tone and she claimed that we were being aggressive with her and she didn't have to stand for it! For someone working in customer service, her behaviour was appalling. Whilst she is in that ticket booth, she is a representative of your company and if she can't handle complaints in a respectful and professional manner then she clearly shouldn't be in the job. I very much doubt I would come back here again.

Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens replied: Thank you very much for your review. I hope that you had a positive day over all. Yesterday was particularly busy and there are a number of lessons that we can take from the day which will help to make the process smoother at the activity centre when it is so busy in the future. Their priority has to be the safety of the customers using the equipment which I hope you agree was maintained despite the high demand. I will pass on your comments to the Activity Centre so that they are able to act upon them. I apologise about the confusion about booking the high ropes course. The zoo staff are unable to make bookings for this activity as it requires the coordination of activity centre staff who have the particular qualifications as well as equipment to ensure customer safety. If you could send me your contact details to zoo@kirkleyhall.co.uk I will pass on your details to the Activity Centre and hopefully get you booked in. I have triple checked the Activity Centre's website and it lists what is offered in the dual ticket on the 'prices' page. With regard to our reindeer, the vet visits regularly as is very pleased with their condition. The vet has assured the zoo that both animals are healthy and look as they should for their particular species, age and the time of year. I will pass on your praise to the member of staff running the zip wire and will investigate your comments about the other staff member mentioned and put some extra training in place. If you wish to discuss this further, pop it in the email to zoo@kirkleyhall.co.uk and I will get back to you. Thank you again for your comments; feedback is always gratefully received, Aidan Marsden Visitor Experience Manager

Kirkley Hall Zoo on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter


https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Kirkley-Hall-Zoological-Gardens/vn-medium-Logo.jpeghttps://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Kirkley-Hall-Zoological-Gardens/vn-medium-Logo.jpegzoo@kirkleyhall.co.uk

Photo: https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Kirkley-Hall-Zoological-Gardens/vn-medium-Logo.jpeg

URL: http://kirkleyhallzoo.co.uk


Search for things to do

Search for events

Search for accommodation

Sign up for our newsletter


Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard