Bilton Barns

Bilton Barns Farm
Bilton
Alnmouth
Northumberland
NE66 2TB

+44 01665 830427

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 84 reviews
Find within approx miles of Bilton Barns

Overview

The traditional Northumbrian stone-built farm cottages are located on a working farm with views across the fields. an excellent base for exploring the many delights of the spectacular countryside and spectacular beaches. The cottages have been extensively refurbished. All have 2 bathrooms and have full central heating and additional stoves in feature fireplaces, batton doors and open plan kitchen/dining/lounge area. French doors open onto a large shared garden.

Unit information for Bilton Barns

Type Qty Capacity Guide price
House 1 6
£300.00
per unit per week
House 1 4
£370.00
per unit per week
House 1 3
£280.00
per unit per week
House 1 6
£300.00
per unit per week
House 1 2
£280.00
per unit per week
House 1 6
£300.00
per unit per week
Total capacity: 27
Working farm location at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Working farm
Child / family friendly at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Child / family friendly
Childrens facilities at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Childrens facilities
Car parking available at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Car parking available
Short breaks available at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Short breaks available
Guest garden at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Garden for guest use
Linen provided at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Linen provided
Cycle friendly at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Cycle friendly
Walker friendly at Bilton Barns Self Catering Accommodation Walker friendly
Sleep quality
Sleep quality
Value
Value
Service
Service
Rooms
Rooms
Cleanliness
Cleanlinessy
Location
Location
Certificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
25/06/2017

Relaxing and chilled out


David B, Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
An excellent B&B which we highly recommend. Self, wife and teenage daughter stayed in the farmhouse for four nights and really enjoyed it. Lovely breakfasts and a great base for visiting Northumberland, close to Alnmouth for evening meals and in a really quiet location. Clean, friendly and a joy to stay there.
tripadvisor
21/06/2017

Fast ball for one night with broken glasses


bob350r, Northumberland, United Kingdom
It had been a great but long day at a family BBQ but since I was nominated driver (thus sober), I was looking forward to crashing out on the sofa at home and catching up on Emmerdale with a glass of Red However, the night took an unusual turn since my wife had been sipping Vodka from 12 noon till 6pm with her cronies like there was no tomorrow. She can usually handle a drink, but doesn’t normally play with Strawberry Vodka or whatever it was, and by 6pm it showed. So anyway, she had what I can only call a bit of a “melt down” and after I took 4 back handers in consecutive seconds across the head I decided it might be an idea to stay out that night. Luckily I had some gaffer tape in the car to put my glasses back together in an effort to find some digs for the night. I found Bilton Barns on a quick google search only 2 miles away from my front door. Brian and Dorothy were fantastic hosts and the accommodation was perfect. My room was huge, clean and tidy and the bed was perfect. Not to mention the lush duck feather quilts. I just didn’t want to get up in the morning. Unfortunately, the wifi was really fast so I got every one of the 58 text messages my now “foaming” wife sent. In the morning I was served one of the best Full English breakfasts with all the trimmings. Next time we have a family BBQ and the wifes drinking Vodka I will definitely consider staying again. Thanks for your hospitality guys!!
tripadvisor
07/05/2017

A gem in Northumbria


Jeanatlomond, Glasgow, United Kingdom
We stayed for 3 nights in the bedroom with the four poster bed in Dorothy and Brian's lovely farmhouse. The room was very spacious, beautifully furnished, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with lovely home made jams, marmalade, berry fruits and locally soursced sausages, bacon, eggs etc. There is a comfortable guest sitting room and sun lounge and views out over the fields to the sea. Dorothy was so kind to us and we shall be returning as soon as we can.
tripadvisor
01/05/2017

Breathtaking views. very comfortable, warm welcome & excellent breakfast


Serena L, Fleet, United Kingdom
We were welcomed very warmly. We enjoyed our single night in the main farm house in a very large comfortable corner room with a panoramic view of fields & sea. The weather was inclement but the comfort,hospitality and warmth offset this. On our arrival,we were very appreciative of the offer of a pot of tea & biscuits, a generous touch. Bed linen & bed jolly comfy. Extensive breakfast, perfectly cooked & I enjoyed the stewed plums - jummy. We would recommend. If pushed to make any suggested changes, if would be our preference to have a higher powered shower, but one can't have everything. It's rather nice to be able to stay on a working farm.
tripadvisor
23/04/2017

Disappointing


DAJK, Dunfermline
Read many reviews saying how amazing this Farm house was, but found our stay in Emma's suite very ordinary. It was meant to sleep 3 adults but the 2nd bedroom was very small drab and ,dark with a window overlooking a brick wall. The bathroom which could be entered from both bedrooms had a small size bath so only really suitable for showering. and needed some TLC.. Everywhere looked tired and needed to be properly cleaned or renewed. The bed linen was very poor and the pillows were just awful and the duvet unpleasant The outside door and windows needed a coat of paint or at the very leased a good sweep and be washed down. There are no facilities to eat or sit outside your door. Information leaflets for your use were dated 2016 and some information in a folder left for you was dated 2015. The driveway to the farm house is privately owned and quite a way from the main road, unlit and in places had some deep potholes so you need to drive slowly and watch out for the bad road surface.. The suites at Bilton Barns are at the higher end of the price range and I have stayed in many other self catering units that are brighter,cleaner and better maintained for less. Did not enter the farm house so cannot comment.The photograph on the web site is of the back of the farm house whilst the self catering suite look out over the car park.

Bilton Barns replied: We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Bilton Barns is a small family-run business and we pride ourselves on our holiday accommodation. We are open to feedback from our guests and only wish that you had raised your concerns with us whilst you were here so that we could have had the opportunity to address your needs during your stay. We always hope to make ourselves available to our guests so as to ensure that they have an enjoyable stay with us. We hope, like the majority of our visitors, that you will come and stay with us again in the future.
https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Bilton-Barns/vn-medium-External.jpghttps://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Bilton-Barns/vn-medium-External.jpgdorothy@biltonbarns.com

Photo: https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/Bilton-Barns/vn-medium-External.jpg

URL: http://www.biltonbarns.com


Search for accommodation

Search for things to do

Search for events

Sign up for our newsletter


It's in our nature
Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard