The Queens Head

Townfoot
Rothbury
Northumberland
NE65 7SR

+44 01669 620470

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 318 reviews
Find within approx miles of The Queens Head
.

Check availability for The Queens Head

Check-in for night(s)

Awards

Visit Britain Cyclists Welcome Visit Britain Walkers Welcome

Overview

The Queens Head in Rothbury is a traditional old fashioned Inn in the heart of the beautiful Coquet Valley. A landmark in the village since 1780 the pub is centrally placed and within 1 minutes' walk of the river.

On the edge of the National Park and only 30 minutes drive from the Heritage coast, making us an ideal base from which to explore the natural beauty of North Northumberland and the Borders, or if shopping is your pleasure Newcastle is only 40 minutes drive away. 

Outdoor pursuits in the area include  fishing, golfing, shooting, walking, climbing and cycling.  The Coquet is justly famous for its trout and salmon fishing, and other rivers are within easy reach. Rothbury has its own 18-hole golf course and there are many more in the area.

We can arrange discounted golfing and fly fishing tuition and we have cycle storage and drying  space for muddy boots. We can also arrange for cycle hire, delivered to the door and hire of all terrain buggies for children.

The hotel has 7 en suite bedrooms (including family rooms), 2 dining rooms, lounge bar and games room. There is a pleasant outdoor seating area and free parking in a private car park.

Children are always welcome and high chairs are provided, cots are available by prior arrangement.

We have a reputation for excellent food and offer a bar menu as well a full a la Carte menu. The Sunday carvery is especially popular and good value for money and if you eat nothing else you must try the bread and butter pudding, or the hot sticky ginger pudding, or the chocolate sponge pudding ...........try them all.

Bed and breakfast Twin or Double Room Rate from £60 to £80 per night.

Single occupancy from £40 per night in a twin and £50 in a double.

Family Rooms supplement £20 per extra person per night

Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal and extended break packages are available on request.


Room information for The Queens Head

Type Qty Capacity Guide price
Twin ensuite room 3 2
£80.00
B&B per room per night
(£55.00 single occupancy)
Min: £40.00 - Max: £80.00
Family ensuite room 1 4
£110.00
B&B per room per night
(£60.00 single occupancy)
Min: £90.00 - Max: £110.00
Double ensuite room 3 2
£80.00
B&B per room per night
(£60.00 single occupancy)
Min: £60.00 - Max: £80.00
Total capacity: 16

Special offers

Child / family friendly at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Child / family friendly
Childrens facilities at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Childrens facilities
Car parking available at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Car parking available
Licenced premises at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Licenced premises
Special diets catered for at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Special diets catered for
Credit / debit cards accepted at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Credit / debit cards accepted
TV available at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Television
Hairdryer available at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Hairdryer
Tea / coffee facilities at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
Guest garden at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Garden for guest use
Laundry / washing facilities at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Washing machine / Laundry
Log fire / Open fireplace at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Log fire / Open fireplace
Residents lounge at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Residents lounge
Cycle friendly at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Cycle friendly
Walker friendly at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Walker friendly
WiFi available at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation WiFi
Sleep quality
Sleep quality
Value
Value
Service
Service
Rooms
Rooms
Cleanliness
Cleanlinessy
Location
Location
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
27/06/2017

Restaurant and bar fine


TheNard, Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
We were staying in a local B&B and this is one of the venues they listed as possible for an evening meal. Yes, it is dated, but my husband enjoyed some local beer and I discovered the Edinburgh Gin rhubarb and ginger flavour which was delicious! We dined here on two evenings and the food was fine. The restaurant was full both times, certainly quite a few locals, so worth booking. The menu is not pretentious and is what it is. The fish and chips were delicious and I had a chicken dish on the second night. Service was fine.

The Queens Head replied: Hello, Thank you for your review, the Edinburgh Gin is lovely, and a bit addictive lol. Pleased you decided to eat with us on both nights of your stay, we do appreciate you took the time to leave us a review. Thanks again Teresa
tripadvisor
26/06/2017

Decent Friendly Pub...But...Portion Control!


peteandlinda999, Skipton, United Kingdom
Stayed 1 night in Rothbury (Sat 24th June for my 56th birthday) and went to the pub for a meal and a few drinks. I like real ale, and there was a choice. The beer was good. Reasonable menu choice, however the Caesar Salad starter was ludicrously small. Possibly the smallest pub starter portion I have ever seen. It tasted fine, however had a minimum of the critical ingredients. Gone in about 4 scoops. I'm not sure if this is a pretentious attempt at cordon bleu, or just plain mean. The Chicken & Haggis main course was excellent, and a fair portion size. I deliberated about writing this review, and I deliberated about scoring 4 or 5. I am aware that with the stroke of a few computer keys it is possible to affect someones livelihood, and I take that seriously.. But 2 days later I do feel rather annoyed at both the ridiculous portion size, and the fact that the (friendly) waitress, when challenged, didn't appear either to explain the rationale or attempt a remedy.

The Queens Head replied: Thank you for your review, I have spoken to the staff who where on duty on Saturday, I was not in that night as it was my Birthday also... They do remember checking back with you to see if everything was ok, which it was. It was only when you had finished your starters and the waitress came to clear your plates that you mentioned that you thought your starter was a very small portion. We are not mean and no, we don't do Nouvelle Cuisine, and maybe if you had been offered a free coffee or a reduced price on a dessert that would have sufficed and you would have scored us higher. Teresa
tripadvisor
18/06/2017

Friendly welcoming hotel/pub


geraldvinestock, Lancaster, United Kingdom
Stayed 3 nights as part of a family group, which almost filled the hotel. Welcoming and friendly staff who went out of their way to meet their guests' requirements. Good breakfasts, comfortable rooms and decent dinners and a separate guest's lounge where we were able to plan the next day's activities.

The Queens Head replied: Hello Gerald, How kind to leave us a review on here, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovely to have you all. Hope you enjoyed your stay in France. Teresa
tripadvisor
12/06/2017

Nice rooms and great food


PabloGilberto, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Enjoyed a pleasant 3 night stay here. I had a twin bedded room on the top floor, which was comfy, well equipped with all the usual amenities and had free WiFi. Beware though, there's no lift so be prepared to lug your cases up 3 flights of stairs. The restaurant and bar seemed popular with the locals. The restaurant food was well prepared and good value, although service was a bit slow when busy. Breakfast was great.

The Queens Head replied: Thanks for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us please do keep in touch. Teresa
tripadvisor
30/05/2017

NOT FIT FOR A QUEEN SO OFF WITH HER HEAD


Dave W, Redcar, United Kingdom
I booked this hotel on the 1st March 2017, This was for a long weekend family break. What a mistake I made. I have to give a rating for this hotel, and the only rating I can give is the one that I have given. If it had been possible to give an even lower rating than I would have done so. When making the booking (over the telephone) I spoke to a lady by the name of Gina, who explained to me that she was the manager. I asked for a family room at ground level, this is because I am disabled and use walking sticks for short distances, but mainly use a wheelchair. She explained to me that they did have a family room available and that my disability would not be a problem. She then proceeded to ask for a £100 deposit which I duly paid, and then informed me that if I were to cancel up to 2 weeks prior to arrival then my deposit would not be returned. On arrival, and I admit we did arrive fairly early and was told that the room was not ready and would not be for quite some time. However what really hammered home was that the room was on the second floor, with 38 steps to climb, and that there wasn't a lift. The gentleman on reception duties can only be at best described, 'As the light was on but nobody was at home' he informed me that I was wrong and that the information I was giving him was in fact incorrect. If the information that I was giving him was incorrect then who in there right minds would continue booking with a hotel that doesn't support disabled people. This in itself is against the disabled persons act. With this being the Bank holiday weekend and in a popular area of Northumberland, our chances of finding another hotel in this area were very remote. With the risk of loosing the £100 deposit (which I am sure most people can't afford to do) I felt that I had no option but to continue with the booking. Oh what a mistake that proved to be. When we did eventually take over the room, it was dirty. With deep stains in the carpet, curtains hanging off there curtain rail, cracked wash basin, deep mildew grime around the shower tray and worst of all a toilet that would not flush properly. The toilet had to be assisted in flushing by using the waste bin filled with water and emptying that into the toilet bowl several times to achieve a good level of sanitation. This was reported to a senior member of staff who informed that the chef would come and fix it at the end of his shift, this was declined as it was late and I needed to rest. When we returned to our room the following night, the toilet issues had still not been resolved. I again mentioned this to a member of staff, who said it will be resolved in due course. When the cistern flushing mechanism was finally replaced it still continued to fail to do it's job of flushing the toilet. On the second morning of our stay when going into breakfast the breakfast room smelt heavily of tobacco, where my wife noticed cigarette ends on the floor. On arrival for breakfast I had the misfortune of meeting with the lady who took my booking over the telephone (Gina) and she totally denied even talking to me, She was extremely rude in the fact that she kept interrupting me when I was trying to explain that I was totally disappointed with this hotel. The only person that I found to be of any help and courtesy was the young chef called Darren, who cooked the breakfasts for the Saturday & Sunday mornings. On the day of our arrival (Friday) we booked a table in their restaurant for dinner in the evening. My wife and son ordered Sirloin of steak medium rare, only for it to be extremely rare, in fact had a vet been in attendance I am sure that it could have got the poor animal back on it's feet. I myself ordered a Gammon steak only to be given what can only be best described as a thick piece of bacon, it was about 4/5 millimetres thick at best. Would we stay here again NO NOT EVER this has got to be the worst experience that we have ever had. This to me has the feel of a business that is failing. I have taken some photographs for posterity and to remind us what a disaster this has been. It really does speak volumes when a hotel is canvassing for positive reviews on trip advisor in the bar area. What ever you do AVOID ROOM 14 AT ALL COSTS

The Queens Head replied: I have been expecting your review considering the amount of complaints you made about the fact that you were disabled and given a room on the second floor. When you booked your room you asked for a family room. There was no mention of being disabled and using a wheelchair because if you had told us that at the time we would have said we have no rooms at all suitable for disabled people in wheelchairs. We have no ground floor rooms at all being a pub all the public rooms are on the ground floor. You would have been informed that the family room is on the second floor and not suitable for anyone not able to us the stairs. We have no lift. It is quite clearly stated on all our booking sites we have no lift. I would have happily found you some other accommodation had you asked when you arrived. We called out a plumber twice to fix the toilet, no mean feat on a bank holiday weekend and it was fixed and working when he left and is still working now. The cigarette ends on the floor in the breakfast room must have been brought in on someones shoes as the whole building is non smoking but I cannot stop people smoking outside and with the windows open there may have been some smoke drifting in. As to your steaks, you have not mentioned that they were replaced with two fresh steaks, which you were very happy with. A Gammon steak is indeed a thick piece of bacon, we buy good quality horseshoe gammon so I will be speaking to our supplier about the inconsistency in the thickness. I have replaced the 3 hooks missing from the curtains, and where someone spilled tea or coffee on the carpet I will deal with also, minor irritations that are commonplace when you run a B&B. As to the cracked washbasin, it is a scratch, if it was cracked it would be replaced. I can assure you we are not breaking any laws or the disability act, you were clearly angry from the outset and nothing we did or said could placate your anger. I don't understand your comment about canvassing for positive reviews.
https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Queens-Head/vn-medium-dining.jpghttps://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Queens-Head/vn-medium-dining.jpgenqs@queensheadrothbury.com

Photo: https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Queens-Head/vn-medium-dining.jpg

URL: http://www.queensheadrothbury.com

Search for accommodation

Search for things to do

Search for events

Sign up for our newsletter


It's in our nature
Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard