The Queens Head

Townfoot
Rothbury
Northumberland
NE65 7SR

+44 01669 620470

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 319 reviews
Find within approx miles of The Queens Head
.

Check availability for The Queens Head

Check-in for night(s)

Awards

Visit Britain Cyclists Welcome Visit Britain Walkers Welcome

Overview

The Queens Head in Rothbury is a traditional old fashioned Inn in the heart of the beautiful Coquet Valley. A landmark in the village since 1780 the pub is centrally placed and within 1 minutes' walk of the river.

On the edge of the National Park and only 30 minutes drive from the Heritage coast, making us an ideal base from which to explore the natural beauty of North Northumberland and the Borders, or if shopping is your pleasure Newcastle is only 40 minutes drive away. 

Outdoor pursuits in the area include  fishing, golfing, shooting, walking, climbing and cycling.  The Coquet is justly famous for its trout and salmon fishing, and other rivers are within easy reach. Rothbury has its own 18-hole golf course and there are many more in the area.

We can arrange discounted golfing and fly fishing tuition and we have cycle storage and drying  space for muddy boots. We can also arrange for cycle hire, delivered to the door and hire of all terrain buggies for children.

The hotel has 7 en suite bedrooms (including family rooms), 2 dining rooms, lounge bar and games room. There is a pleasant outdoor seating area and free parking in a private car park.

Children are always welcome and high chairs are provided, cots are available by prior arrangement.

We have a reputation for excellent food and offer a bar menu as well a full a la Carte menu. The Sunday carvery is especially popular and good value for money and if you eat nothing else you must try the bread and butter pudding, or the hot sticky ginger pudding, or the chocolate sponge pudding ...........try them all.

Bed and breakfast Twin or Double Room Rate from £60 to £80 per night.

Single occupancy from £40 per night in a twin and £50 in a double.

Family Rooms supplement £20 per extra person per night

Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal and extended break packages are available on request.


Room information for The Queens Head

Type Qty Capacity Guide price
Twin ensuite room 3 2
£80.00
B&B per room per night
(£55.00 single occupancy)
Min: £40.00 - Max: £80.00
Family ensuite room 1 4
£110.00
B&B per room per night
(£60.00 single occupancy)
Min: £90.00 - Max: £110.00
Double ensuite room 3 2
£80.00
B&B per room per night
(£60.00 single occupancy)
Min: £60.00 - Max: £80.00
Total capacity: 16

Special offers

Child / family friendly at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Child / family friendly
Childrens facilities at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Childrens facilities
Car parking available at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Car parking available
Licenced premises at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Licenced premises
Special diets catered for at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Special diets catered for
Credit / debit cards accepted at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Credit / debit cards accepted
TV available at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Television
Hairdryer available at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Hairdryer
Tea / coffee facilities at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
Guest garden at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Garden for guest use
Laundry / washing facilities at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Washing machine / Laundry
Log fire / Open fireplace at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Log fire / Open fireplace
Residents lounge at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Residents lounge
Cycle friendly at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Cycle friendly
Walker friendly at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation Walker friendly
WiFi available at The Queens Head Inn Accommodation WiFi
Sleep quality
Sleep quality
Value
Value
Service
Service
Rooms
Rooms
Cleanliness
Cleanlinessy
Location
Location
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
17/07/2017

Room for improvement!


LizzyJane2013, Reading, United Kingdom
Sorry to say but the best thing about this hotel was the bangers and mash on the evening menu. Although the room was clean, everything thing else about it was poor. The breakfast was not good (burned toast for one thing!) and hotel service left a lot to be desired.

The Queens Head replied: I have pm'd you re your review. Teresa
tripadvisor
27/06/2017

Restaurant and bar fine


TheNard, Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
We were staying in a local B&B and this is one of the venues they listed as possible for an evening meal. Yes, it is dated, but my husband enjoyed some local beer and I discovered the Edinburgh Gin rhubarb and ginger flavour which was delicious! We dined here on two evenings and the food was fine. The restaurant was full both times, certainly quite a few locals, so worth booking. The menu is not pretentious and is what it is. The fish and chips were delicious and I had a chicken dish on the second night. Service was fine.

The Queens Head replied: Hello, Thank you for your review, the Edinburgh Gin is lovely, and a bit addictive lol. Pleased you decided to eat with us on both nights of your stay, we do appreciate you took the time to leave us a review. Thanks again Teresa
tripadvisor
26/06/2017

Decent Friendly Pub...But...Portion Control!


peteandlinda999, Skipton, United Kingdom
Stayed 1 night in Rothbury (Sat 24th June for my 56th birthday) and went to the pub for a meal and a few drinks. I like real ale, and there was a choice. The beer was good. Reasonable menu choice, however the Caesar Salad starter was ludicrously small. Possibly the smallest pub starter portion I have ever seen. It tasted fine, however had a minimum of the critical ingredients. Gone in about 4 scoops. I'm not sure if this is a pretentious attempt at cordon bleu, or just plain mean. The Chicken & Haggis main course was excellent, and a fair portion size. I deliberated about writing this review, and I deliberated about scoring 4 or 5. I am aware that with the stroke of a few computer keys it is possible to affect someones livelihood, and I take that seriously.. But 2 days later I do feel rather annoyed at both the ridiculous portion size, and the fact that the (friendly) waitress, when challenged, didn't appear either to explain the rationale or attempt a remedy.

The Queens Head replied: Thank you for your review, I have spoken to the staff who where on duty on Saturday, I was not in that night as it was my Birthday also... They do remember checking back with you to see if everything was ok, which it was. It was only when you had finished your starters and the waitress came to clear your plates that you mentioned that you thought your starter was a very small portion. We are not mean and no, we don't do Nouvelle Cuisine, and maybe if you had been offered a free coffee or a reduced price on a dessert that would have sufficed and you would have scored us higher. Teresa
tripadvisor
18/06/2017

Friendly welcoming hotel/pub


geraldvinestock, Lancaster, United Kingdom
Stayed 3 nights as part of a family group, which almost filled the hotel. Welcoming and friendly staff who went out of their way to meet their guests' requirements. Good breakfasts, comfortable rooms and decent dinners and a separate guest's lounge where we were able to plan the next day's activities.

The Queens Head replied: Hello Gerald, How kind to leave us a review on here, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovely to have you all. Hope you enjoyed your stay in France. Teresa
tripadvisor
12/06/2017

Nice rooms and great food


PabloGilberto, Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Enjoyed a pleasant 3 night stay here. I had a twin bedded room on the top floor, which was comfy, well equipped with all the usual amenities and had free WiFi. Beware though, there's no lift so be prepared to lug your cases up 3 flights of stairs. The restaurant and bar seemed popular with the locals. The restaurant food was well prepared and good value, although service was a bit slow when busy. Breakfast was great.

The Queens Head replied: Thanks for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us please do keep in touch. Teresa
https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Queens-Head/vn-medium-dining.jpghttps://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Queens-Head/vn-medium-dining.jpgenqs@queensheadrothbury.com

Photo: https://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Queens-Head/vn-medium-dining.jpg

URL: http://www.queensheadrothbury.com


Search for accommodation

Search for things to do

Search for events

Sign up for our newsletter


It's in our nature
Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard