The Pheasant Inn

Stannersburn
Hexham
Northumberland
NE48 1DD

+44 01434 240382

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 506 reviews
Find within approx miles of The Pheasant Inn
.

Check availability for The Pheasant Inn

Check-in for night(s)

Awards


Overview

This historic 17thC inn is run with an instinctive understanding of its traditions. The stone walls hold old photos of the community; from colliery to smithy, a vital record of its past. The bars are wonderful: brass beer taps glow, anything wooden has been polished to perfection and the clock above the fire keeps perfect time.

The house ales are expertly kept - Timothy Taylors, and local beers from Wylam Brewery. Robin cooks with relish nothing too fancy but more than enough to keep a smile on your face: fresh fish simply cooked, game and mushroom pie and slow roasted Northumberland Lamb. As for Sunday Lunch The Observer readers voted it one of the best in the North.

Bedrooms in the purpose-built annexe and the old hay barn are simple and tidy, not grand but cosy, and you'll get a piping hot breakfast the next morning - accompanied maybe by a view of the sheepdogs bringing the herd in for shearing. This is the glorious Northumberland National Park - no traffic jams, no rush and don't miss the sculpture at Kielder. Kielder Water is the largest man made lake in Europe and has the least light polluted skies.

Try everything from sailing to golfing, nature safaris to working forest visits. Visit the new Observatory, or further a field Northumberland's top tourist attactions: Alnwick Castle and Gardens, Hadrian's Wall and Forts plus countless castles, rolling countryside and miles of rugged coastline. Then hire bikes and cycle round the lake, or saddle up a pony and take to the hills. close to Kielder Water. Fishing, riding and all water sports are nearby, as are the Scottish Borders and Hadrian's Wall.


The Pheasant Inn features in the itinerary...
Relax

Room information for The Pheasant Inn

Type Qty Capacity Guide price
Family ensuite room 1 4
£100.00
B&B per room per night
Min: £100.00 - Max: £145.00
Twin ensuite room 3 2
£100.00
B&B per room per night
(£80.00 single occupancy)
Min: £100.00 - Max: £110.00
Double ensuite room 4 2
£100.00
B&B per room per night
(£80.00 single occupancy)
Min: £100.00 - Max: £110.00
Single ensuite room 1 1
£80.00
B&B per person per night
Min: £70.00 - Max: £80.00
Total capacity: 19

Dogs / pets allowed at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Dogs / pets allowed
Well behaved pets are welcome by arrangement ONLY, with a £5 nominal fee. We request that you bring your own pet’s bedding and if possible a cage. Unfortunately we can’t invite them into the dining area or bar.
Licenced premises at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Licenced premises
Tea / coffee facilities at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
Child / family friendly at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Child / family friendly
Childrens facilities at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Childrens facilities
Please contact us prior to arrival to check on items required
Car parking available at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Car parking available
Cycle friendly at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Cycle friendly
Online booking at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Book online
Credit / debit cards accepted at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Credit / debit cards accepted
We don't accept American Express
Cycle friendly at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Cycle friendly
DVD player available at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation DVD equipment
En-suite at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation En-suite
Evening meals at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Evening meals
Guest garden at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Garden for guest use
Ground floor bedrooms at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Ground floor bedrooms
Hairdryer available at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Hairdryer
Licenced premises at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Licenced premises
Linen provided at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Linen provided
Log fire / Open fireplace at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Log fire / Open fireplace
Packed lunches available at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Packed lunches available
Restaurant / cafe on site at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Restaurant / Cafe on site
Short breaks available at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Short breaks available
Special diets catered for at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Special diets catered for
Contact us prior to arrival for any special dietary requirements
Tea / coffee facilities at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
TV available at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Television
Walker friendly at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Walker friendly
Laundry / washing facilities at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation Washing machine / Laundry
WiFi available at The Pheasant Inn Inn Accommodation WiFi
Sleep quality
Sleep quality
Value
Value
Service
Service
Rooms
Rooms
Cleanliness
Cleanlinessy
Location
Location
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence
tripadvisor
03/04/2017

Perfect location


KatherineH655, United Kingdom
We stayed for two nights as we were visting Kielder Observatory. The rooms are in an adjacent building/annex to the main pub, which is great when you roll in at 0230 am after a dark skies event at the observatory. The room was impeccably clean, lovely thick bathroom tiles, toiletries and coffee/tea. The staff are lovely and very friendly, we were made to feel most welcome and this made the stay pleasurable. it's a great location and the scenery is breathtaking. We would definitely stay again on our next trip to Northumberland National Park.

The Pheasant Inn replied: Many thanks for your review, delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
tripadvisor
27/03/2017

First class


Alansan,
After a lovely walk with the dogs at Kielder Forest we called into The Pheasant Inn, we received a very warm and friendly greeting and despite not having pre booked were offered a delightful table, the pub like the staff were absolutely charming, the choice and variety of food was good and the prices very reasonable. We both chose the lamb which was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment, it is well worth a visit.

The Pheasant Inn replied: Many thanks for taking time to leave us your comments, these are important to us and much appreciated. Thank you again
tripadvisor
24/03/2017

Disappointed


annrannard, Grimsby, United Kingdom
Terrible meal. We read the reviews prior to booking and thought it would be great. Maybe we chose an off night. My duck was so overcooked it resembled pulled pork lol. Cheese souffle was swimming in cheese sauce?? Pudding was the only half decent part of the meal. Don't bother!!

The Pheasant Inn replied: I was surprised and genuinely sorry to read your comments, I only wish you had spoken with us when you were dining. The souffle is topped with Northumbrian cheesse and cream before being re-baked but it does need this to give the dish moisture. The Duck is confit so is not pink but should not be dry either. My apologies for your dissapointment.
tripadvisor
24/03/2017

Second Visit and even better than the first!!


Pmilly2,
Apologies for not writing this sooner. I returned with my wife for a two night stay, having previously stayed with my son a couple of years ago, and it was a wonderful break in every sense. The owner and his father made us extremely welcome and the food was 'off the chart' good as I remembered. The room was clean and cozy, the beer was exceptional and well-kept and all of the staff were warm and friendly. I cannot wait to return and would have no hesitation recommending this place to anyone. Thank you for your hospitality Robin!

The Pheasant Inn replied: Thank you for your kind review, my dad is 82 now and there are not many days he misses. Both he and I are just coming to terms with the loss of our third partner my mum and so its great to know that together with our staff we are still doing a good job. Thanks again
tripadvisor
21/03/2017

A welcoming open fire on a cold night, with great food as a bonus


goodfoody2015, Doncaster, United Kingdom
Thankfully we had booked our table for on this chilly night it appeared that lots of people had sought refuge here. Right from our initial welcome it was evident that we would not be disappointed. The menue was very inviting but we settled for, first course off goats cheese and caralamised onions and double baked cheese soufflé. Mains of sea bream, mixed fish platter and roast lamb were all served piping hot with a good selection of vegetables or salad and were all of excellent quality, only two of us were able to manage a dessert of spiced ginger pudding. To sumerise, great food, great service, great atmosphere.

The Pheasant Inn replied: Thank you for taking time to leave us your review, great to hear you enjoyed the food and that you found us so cosy and welcoming. Thanks again
http://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Pheasant-Inn/vn-medium-Exterior.jpghttp://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Pheasant-Inn/vn-medium-Exterior.jpgstay@thepheasantinn.com

Photo: http://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Pheasant-Inn/vn-medium-Exterior.jpg

URL: http://www.thepheasantinn.com

Search for accommodation

Search for things to do

Search for events

Sign up for our newsletter


It's in our nature
Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard