The Hadrian Hotel

Front Street
Wall
Northumberland
NE46 4EE

01434 681232

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 213 reviews
Find within approx miles of The Hadrian Hotel
.

Check availability for The Hadrian Hotel

Check-in for night(s)

Overview

The Hadrian is situated close to Hadrian's Wall and the town of Hexham, just off the A69, between Carlisle and Hexham. The Hadrian dates back to the 19thC and is situated in the conservation area of Wall village. Meals are available all day, 7 days a week.

Room information for The Hadrian Hotel

Type Qty Capacity Guide price
Double ensuite room
(Double en-suite room)
2 2
£85.00
B&B per room per night
Twin ensuite room
(Twin en-suite room)
2 2
£85.00
B&B per room per night
(£60.00 single occupancy)
Twin ensuite room
(Twin with shared bathroom)
2 2
£78.00
B&B per room per night
(£50.00 single occupancy)
Total capacity: 12

Child / family friendly at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Child / family friendly
Car parking available at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Car parking available
Licenced premises at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Licenced premises
Special diets catered for at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Special diets catered for
Credit / debit cards accepted at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Credit / debit cards accepted
TV available at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Television
Four poster beds at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Four poster beds
Tea / coffee facilities at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
Guest garden at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Garden for guest use
Laundry / washing facilities at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Washing machine / Laundry
Dogs / pets allowed at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Dogs / pets allowed
Log fire / Open fireplace at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Log fire / Open fireplace
Cycle friendly at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Cycle friendly
Walker friendly at The Hadrian Hotel Inn Accommodation Walker friendly
Sleep quality
Sleep quality
Value
Value
Service
Service
Rooms
Rooms
Cleanliness
Cleanlinessy
Location
Location
tripadvisor
05/03/2017

Sunday Lunch


YolandaBage, Cramlington, United Kingdom
The roast meat we had today was beef and pork. Both tender, which for me is the biggest obstacle! It came with 2 Yorkshire puddings and a nice selection of vegetables. Extra gravy was also available.The service is alway friendly. The food at the Hadrian has always been good. The menu has changed since I saw it last year. There used to be a nice home made pork pie with chutney, cheese and salad which I thought was a nice change from cooked dishes. I think the prices have gone up too. I did notice that they are refurbishing the place, which is over due. I understand that there is a new owner who is obviously trying to undertake a huge job, with the refurbishing and decorating. I hope the toilets which are fine will also been replaced and modernised as they have been the same for a long time. I wish them good luck and look forward to seeing the new Hadrian.

The Hadrian Hotel replied: Dear YolandaBage, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, it is always good to hear people have enjoyed their visit to us. We have noted your point about the pie and shall see what we can add for our Summer menu and yes, you will be pleased to know the new loos are being installed imminently! We do hope to welcome you again, Best wishes from The Hadrian
tripadvisor
29/01/2017

Saturday night away


Kate F, Sunderland, United Kingdom
We planned this visit with the dog, we weren't expecting the best hotel to be honest. The night before we received an email saying that they were undergoing work, there was a 48hour cancellation policy, so we wouldn't have been able to cancel anyway. We drove up on the morning, went for a walk on hadrians wall so we're a little muddy. She showed us to our room which was clean and quite big. she said the dog wasn't allowed on the bed, which was fair enough. She advised us we couldn't sit in the restaurant with the dog only the bar area, and that they weren't serving food until 6pm. She asked us if we wanted a table reserving so I said yeah for 6pm. We got changed and chilled in our room before going down stairs for about 6pm. we asked where we were able to sit and she said up in the bar. There was one table, we ordered a drink and opened a tab as there was no where to go around, so just stayed there. In the bath there was no fire it was freezing cold. We had walked through a different bar area that had candles on the table and a big roaring fire. So I asked if we could sit in there. She checked and we were able to. This was much better, we are our food which was lovely. We both got steak and chips. I woke early in the morning and decided to take the dog out for a walk about 7.30am. I went downstairs and the front door was locked. I looked about for another door out and set an alarm off. The dog got a shock and so did I? we hung around for a moment and no one came. I went upstairs to see my fiance. I told him I think we are by ourselves locked in. We have never stayed in a hotel where we have been locked in and alone. What if there was a fire or an accident? I looked in the book to see if there was any phone numbers or anything and there wasn't. Eventually the alarm finally stopped ringing. So I went downstairs. The chef was there, I explained and said sorry for setting the alarm off. She said it was ok. I explained I couldn't get out and she said did you not use your room key? I said no why? she told me it opened the front door. Nobody had explained this and giving the fact I have a dog that needs to go outside for the toilet should have been a major point explained when I checked in. I might also add she had to come down on her day off which was very kind. I seen her leaving as I was on my way back and she explained that someone was there now. When I got back in the hotel no one was to be seen so I went straight up to my room. When we went down for breakfast, we took the dog round the block again and then went back in. The girl who checked us in said she was sorry, which was nice of her but that's a basic necessity that she should have made us aware off. What would have happened if there was a fire, or an accident and we needed to get out. She looked very stressed out because the chef was late because he had an accident so our breakfast was delayed but that wasn't a problem. I don't think we would stay here again, however once the renovation has been completed and some staff training on what should be advised to guests when they stay. This should be a lovely hotel. We spoke to at least 4 staff whilst we stayed there and they all knew we had our dog with us and none of them mentioned that we would be locked in overnight. Thanks Kate
tripadvisor
01/01/2017

Lovely Sunday lunch


mpjbells, Macclesfield, United Kingdom
With new chef and owners we tried Sunday lunch. Great food, big dish of fresh veg and excellent value roast beef. Also great cheslese soufflé. Defo worth a visit. Not posh but getting better. Thanks very much.

The Hadrian Hotel replied: Dear mpjbells, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch - lots of work going on at the pub so we hope you'll come and see the progress some time soon! Best wishes from The Hadrian
tripadvisor
23/12/2016

Disappointed in by the change in food quality


lisadorritt, Newcastle
Having visited quite a few times in the past I was looking forward to another trip earlier this month. However I was disappointed to see the menu had changed. Previously I had always had a coronation chicken sandwich and chips and was always so impressed with the quantity and quality of the food. I found the new menu much more expensive and the choice not as good. When our food arrived neither myself nor my husband really enjoyed it - it seems to have went from having fantastic food to very average, which is such a shame.

The Hadrian Hotel replied: Dear Lisadorritt, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we are sorry it couldn't be more positive. Our new menu is a reflection of seasonal, local produce and we take pride in the sourcing, preparing and serving of it. Having acquired the pub at the start of November we did feel some changes were necessary and a new menu was one of them, we are sorry you don't approve but hope you might give us another chance to serve you something you might enjoy. Best wishes from The Hadrian
tripadvisor
22/12/2016

Give it a miss


nicandchar,
After visiting the hotel for years as we loved the home cooked meals, portion sizes and the friendly atmosphere we were so disappointed when we went up last week. The menu had changed and the choice was poor, the prices have been hiked up also. Staff didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing. We were ignored for 10 minutes so I went to the bar to ask if we had to order there as in the past they came to the table. I had the turkey baggette and my partner had lamb. No gravy served with the roast of the day sandwich which was so dry. My partners meal was so small we were wondering if he would get a bowl of vegetables with the meal but what was on the plate was it. Tiny. We had to go and get our own knives and forks from another table as meal was served without them. We wanted another drink but nobody behind the bar so didn't bother. Nobody came to ask if meal ok. We sat for a while and nobody cleared the table so we got up, paid and left. We won't ever be back. The place is filthy and the atmosphere has gone from a friendly pub to a place where nobody seems to care about their customers. We used to love how the staff would take time to chat to you even the chef would come out and ask if we were enjoying our meal but that's all changed now. What a shame

The Hadrian Hotel replied: Dear nicandchar, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we are sorry it couldn't be a more positive one. We recently took the pub over and it has been something of a whirlwind, rather hitting the ground running in the run-up to Christmas. Our staff are always happy to help, though a change or ownership can be disruptive, we apologise that on the day you found them to be not so. We would agree that the place was filthy, we have had to have extensive deep cleaning done, with commercial contractors and are slowly putting the place back together. We felt a new menu to reflect the fresh change in ownership, was an important part of bringing the pub back to the standard it should be. We hope you might give us another chance, Best wishes from The Hadrian
http://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Hadrian-Hotel/vn-medium-exterior.jpghttp://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Hadrian-Hotel/vn-medium-exterior.jpginfo@hadrianhotel.co.uk

Photo: http://images.visitnorthumberland.com/The-Hadrian-Hotel/vn-medium-exterior.jpg

URL: http://www.hadrianhotel.co.uk

Search for accommodation

Search for things to do

Search for events

Sign up for our newsletter


Discover our skies at #NlandStars
Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard