Relax and unwind in our beautiful Grade II listed property set in stunning deer park & woodland; in the heart of Northumberland National Park.
£95.00B&B per room per night
Min: £79.00 - Max: £110.00
Tea / Coffee facilities
Garden for guest use
Restaurant / Cafe on site
Food To Die For!
Stayed here for a wedding I was attending in the village down the road. On arrival was greeted with a very warm welcome and was very impressed with the scenery and style of the place. My room was also up to standard and the bed is one of the comfiest I have slept in! As this is not a major chain corporation company and just family owned I wasn't expecting much but credit where credits due so again, very impressed! Now to the cause of me writing this review, the food! Absolutely divine! I was so impressed that I have since been back several times just to sample the menu. Crab cakes are to die for and I have now had every course of Sunday lunch they offer, unreal! Hats off to the chef! Once again, VERY IMPRESSED!
Nice little hotel
al1cante, Gateshead, United Kingdom
We stayed while attending a wedding in the village. Comfy bed nice room & a tasty breakfast. It is too far to walk to the village in the dark but a taxi was £10 & took 5 mins. Nice area around hotel for walks. The staff were lovely & friendly too.
The first time we visited there were several interesting vegetarian starters and main courses..and the Chef was also able to offer alternatives. We rebooked.. we live locally..and any interesting veggie options had disappearred as had chefs flexibility. My husband says his carnivorous option was fine however.
Fine for a short stay although breakfast could be more generous!
Didn't really spend much time here other than sleeping and eating breakfast. We stayed as we were spending the day at le petit chateau at a wedding which is about a 5mins drive away. If your a light sleeper then you may have trouble here, the hotel is a bit 'creaky' so when people walk down the corridor it makes a racket and you can here things such as toilet flushing from the rooms next door. We didn't find it too much of a problem as we'd had a few drinks at the wedding which helped with the sleep! The room was really small (think New York size) with a dinky bathroom with a small shower. Whilst for one night this is fine I imagine it could get very claustrophobic. It was also very warm - despite is being a dismal summer day so we ended up sleeping with both windows open. Breakfast in the morning was ok - however the full cooked breakfast which consists of a single sausage, one rasher of bacon etc could really be more generous! I was still hungry afterwards even after a fair few slices of toast. But it's not the end of the world! The lady running breakfast seemed really busy but was very friendly and attentive. When we said we wanted accommodation for the wedding (to the bride and groom) we were told the cheapest rooms would be £150. Imagine our relief that open check out the cost was £76! This was just about right, if it had been £150 I would have been raging! All in all this place was fine, I probably wouldn't stay again - but it's very convenient for local wedding venues. Also it should be noted that we were allowed to check in and have our room from 1pm which was much earlier than advertised which was a great bonus!
Its very rare that I'll complain about anything, let alone go out of my way to write a negative review, however I felt it was necessary on this occasion. As previously stated by other reviews, the venue looks nice on arrival. Upon arriving to my room the decor wasn't really to be taste, but that sort of thing doesn't bother me. The room was satisfactory for what I required. Upon returning from the event I had attended locally, I went to turn the lamp out and noticed that there was a LOT of black flying insects gravitating towards the light. When I say a lot, I mean a good 50+, not 4 or 5. That sort of thing wouldn't normally bother me but it was a bit much. I turned the light out and just thought I would deal with it as there wouldn't be a lot i could do at that time of the morning. Next problem then occurred. The walls are less than paper thin. I was in room 12 and the guests upstairs clearly had had too much to drink as they were up and down to the toilet every 30 minutes from 3am right the way through to 7am when they decided to get up and get read. When I say paper thin, I mean that I could hear them manoeuvring to get out of bed and I could even hear them sighing, so you can imagine that everything else was crystal clear too. This resulted in me having THE worst nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel, bar none. This isn't an issue with the guests being loud, its an issue with the non-existent insulation between the floors and walls. They took a good 2 hours getting ready by which time I was never going to be getting back to sleep for any worthwhile time before check out so I wasn't overly impressed, however I thought i would politely put my concerns to the reception about the black insects and the noise. I was given a 'sorry for the noise' and told that the insects were midges and that they had a problem with them. They asked if id left my window open (the window was open on arrival and id just left it as i was in a rush to get out). I decided to skip breakfast as I just wanted to get out and get home for some rest. No compensation or refund offered which I was very disappointed about. As I said at the beginning, I hate complaining and it takes a lot for me to do so. I would have expected a lot more from this establishment. One final thing, the wifi didnt work for the duration of the stay and there was no signal at the hotel for phones. I would have brought this up to the management when I spoke to them but it was evident it would have also been excused.
The Coach House replied: Hi Adam Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at The Coach House. As discussed on check out, I explained that due to our location in the Northumberland countryside that midges do gravitate inside. Unfortunately due to our rural setting telephone and wifi signal can be intermittent. Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.