Newton Hall

Newton Hall
NE66 3DZ

01665 576239

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:TripadvisorBased on 139 reviews
Find within approx miles of Newton Hall

Check availability for Newton Hall

Check-in for night(s)


Exquisitely elaborate surroundings... When it comes to a magnificent coastal location and boutique luxury Newton Hall has all the vital ingredients, just 1 hour from Newcastle and Edinburgh. Every room is decadently designed in our trademark style and individually named and styled after some of the world's greatest beaches. Enjoy private roof terraces and gardens, four-poster beds,free-standing baths, 21 fabulous rooms themed after some of the world most famous coastal destinations.

If all you want to do is hide out in your very own luxury country house, our room service elves are at your command with 24 hour services. If getting out and about is your thing, our outdoor adventure team has it covered, which means all you have to do is arrive and enjoy.

We now have 5 fabulous new additions to the Newton Hall family, the boutique rooms are conveniently located at 'The Joiners Arms' our country pub at the bottom of the garden. K9 companions are more than welcome to eat, drink and stay with you at The Joiners Arms.

Room information for Newton Hall

Type Qty Capacity Guide price
Double ensuite room
(Boutique Double Room (Hall))
15 2
B&B per room per night
Min: £130.00 - Max: £180.00
Double ensuite room
(Boutique Double Room (Courtyard))
6 2
B&B per room per night
Min: £190.00 - Max: £190.00
Total capacity: 42
Car parking available at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Car parking available
55 Complimentary spaces
Cycle friendly at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Cycle friendly
DVD player available at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation DVD equipment
Dogs / pets allowed at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Pet friendly
In all public areas only
Credit / debit cards accepted at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Credit / debit cards accepted
all except American Express
Child / family friendly at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Family friendly
En-suite at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation En-suite
Evening meals at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Evening meals
At Newton Hall or the Joiners Arms
Event venue at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Event venue
Corporate events, Private Events, Weddings
Four poster beds at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Four poster beds
In select rooms
Guest garden at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Garden for guest use
Spectacular grounds for guests
Ground floor bedrooms at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Ground floor bedrooms
Hairdryer available at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Hairdryer
Licenced premises at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Licenced premises
Linen provided at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Linen provided
Log fire / Open fireplace at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Log fire / Open fireplace
Open all year at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Open all year
Packed lunches available at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Packed lunches available
Residents lounge at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Residents lounge
Satellite TV at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Satellite TV
Short breaks available at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Short breaks available
Special diets catered for at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Special diets catered for
Tea / coffee facilities at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Tea / Coffee facilities
TV available at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Television
Walker friendly at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation Walker friendly
WiFi available at Newton Hall Hotel Accommodation WiFi
Sleep quality
Sleep quality
Certificate of ExcellenceCertificate of Excellence

A dream wedding reception.

What an amazing night celebrating the marriage of my cousin and her now husband. The staff were helpful, chatty, full of smiles and went out of their way to ensure everything ran smoothly. The room was decorated beautifully, the food wonderful, the music great and the added touch of dry ice during the first dance just fab! I would highly recommend it to anybody and everybody.

September Wedding

Eileen S, Wallsend, United Kingdom
Although we did not stay over night here we attended a wedding on Sunday September 17th. What a fantastic venue. The reception rooms were very quirky and beautifully decorated as was every where. The actual room the wedding was held in was really nice as was the food both day and night. The master of ceremonies was excellent and a lovely touch was he went and got food for a few of the guests who were a little infirm. Well done to all of the staff I as a guest thought you were all brilliant.

A fantastic place!

DavidofWashington, Washington
We visited this hotel mid-week, as part of a special deal including bed and breakfast, cocktails and evening meal. All aspects of the deal are five star or very close. Our room (situated in the roof area) was spacious, beautifully appointed and very individual. We have rarely stayed in such a wonderful room. The room had a king sized bed, marble bath in the room, separate walk-in shower and a separate toilet. Seating was also provided. The decor was a mixture of modern and antique. A cocktail kit and champagne was provided in the room, as well as fresh fruit. Complementary cocktails were also served before dinner. Dinner was pre-ordered, and consisted of six courses, including amuse-Boucher and coffee. The food was expertly presented, cooked to perfection, and served beautifully by very well trained staff. The whole experience was delightful. Wine( as well as other drinks ) were well priced. The whole hotel is well presented, it is is well appointed, spotlessly clean, and staff are well trained and courteous. I will definitely be back for another visit. Newton by the Sea is a beautiful village on the Northumberland coast. There are two lovely village pubs, Bon of which serve excellent food and drinks. The coast itself is magical.

Newton Hall replied: Hello David, I'm so pleased to hear you had a fantastic experience at Newton Hall recently and thank-you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and the chef. We hope to welcome you to the venue again in the near future! Kind Regards, The Newton Hall Team

How is this place even rated ?

golferPahos_Cyprus, Pahos,Cyprus
I cannot really understand how this venue even gets one star ratings. No access ability to main buildings for anyone with a disability, including no wheelchair access. Access to wedding venue restricted to outside access not from main building. No wheelchair access to wedding venue toilets, meaning embarrassing manhandling of relatives in and out of toilet. No one available to direct wedding guests to parts of building so you just roam around and guess where you are supposed to be ? Food was very average probably local pub standard. Meals were mixed up, wrong starters,wrong mains,still waiting for gravy ! Typical hotel of this standard, got all your money,get on with it. Bar prices obscene, higher than central London hotels. They may have spent a lot of money inside but walk outside and it is the same as a new building site , with crushed dolomite and shale underfoot,great for elderly and disabled ,!! Nicely finished off on morning after wedding reception with a breakfast for family and freinds,in a cupboard. The hotel was aware of how many guests were staying( which is not many due too the lack of rooms) but we had to have breakfast in stages,so many at a time. Breakfast was cold and we had to ask for every item,toast ,coffee etc. It did not matter it was all cold anyway. If you or your loved ones are thinking of booking this venue,think again. Much better and more reasonable priced venues are available in Northumberland

Newton Hall replied: Dear Sir/Madam, I am very sorry to hear that your experience of Newton Hall was disappointing. We take all feedback constructively and are always striving to improve our customer experience, therefore I am grateful that you have taken the time to leave us your comments. Owing to our status as a Grade II listed building, we have worked with local authorities to ensure that our venue is as accessible as permitted. While we understand that for some guests this can be disappointing, we strive to be as accommodating as possible with regards to access into both the Garden Suite and Glass House, including wheelchair friendly toilet facilities. I am really sorry to hear you felt that our staff were not on hand to direct you upon your arrival at the venue. We will review this in the hope that it will not happen again in the future. We regularly compare our pricing levels with similar venues around the North East to ensure that our prices remain competitive. We have passed your feedback regarding the food to our chef and front of house team with regards to the service. I would be extremely grateful if you could provide us with more detail about the issues you experienced with both your meal and Breakfast the following morning, including the date of your stay and name of the wedding party. My email address is . Kind Regards, Alix Thorpe

Not as good as they say

L4239HMdavidh, Hartlepool, United Kingdom
I have to say that the staff are very good from my stay, however the place it's self if highly overrated I paid £230 for one night stay in the my room the name of koh lanta which is situated right under the main bar. That bar was kept open till 5.30 am so we had no sleep at all. Also my partner cut her foot on some broken crockery and not broken by us.

Newton Hall replied: Hello David, Thank-you for taking the time to review Newton Hall, however I am disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with us due to noise from the bar. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent level of customer service and overall experience for all of our valued guests. I am aware that you have been in contact with our General Manager regarding your stay, and I hope that your overall impression of Newton Hall has improved in light of this. We would love to see you and your partner in one of our venues soon. Kind Regards, The Newton Hall Team



Search for accommodation

Search for things to do

Search for events

Sign up for our newsletter

Tourist Information Centres in Northumberland
Late availability noticeboard